Jesus rose from the dead!

Garden Tomb, Jerusalem

Jesus is alive, now!!!!

When Jesus died, many people were raised from the dead, showing that Jesus’ death means life for all who believe in him.

The tombs also were opened. And many bodies of the saints who had fallen asleep were raised, and coming out of the tombs after his resurrection they went into the holy city and appeared to many.

Matt 27:52-53

He will be coming back soon, to gather all believers from the earth.

When Jesus comes to take his people in the rapture, there will be another resurrection.

For the Lord himself will descend from heaven with a cry of command, with the voice of an archangel, and with the sound of the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we will always be with the Lord.

1Thess 4:16-17

After this, there are two more resurrections spoken about in the bible.

Then I saw thrones, and seated on them were those to whom the authority to judge was committed. Also I saw the souls of those who had been beheaded for the testimony of Jesus and for the word of God, and those who had not worshiped the beast or its image and had not received its mark on their foreheads or their hands. They came to life and reigned with Christ for a thousand years. The rest of the dead did not come to life until the thousand years were ended. This is the first resurrection. Blessed and holy is the one who shares in the first resurrection! Over such the second death has no power, but they will be priests of God and of Christ, and they will reign with him for a thousand years.

Rev 20:4-6

All previous resurrections are part of the first resurrection, which happens in stages.

The second resurrection happens at the end of the millennium.

Then I saw a great white throne and him who was seated on it. From his presence earth and sky fled away, and no place was found for them. And I saw the dead, great and small, standing before the throne, and books were opened. Then another book was opened, which is the book of life. And the dead were judged by what was written in the books, according to what they had done. And the sea gave up the dead who were in it, Death and Hades gave up the dead who were in them, and they were judged, each one of them, according to what they had done. Then Death and Hades were thrown into the lake of fire. This is the second death, the lake of fire. And if anyone’s name was not found written in the book of life, he was thrown into the lake of fire.

Rev 20:11-15

Don’t wait for the second resurrection, as this will be a resurrection that leads to everlasting punishment.

This post is a story I wrote about the resurrection of Jesus from Mary Magdelene’s viewpoint.

This is a poem I wrote, imagining how Jesus may have felt when he rose from the dead.

We need to decide today whom we will serve!

Do you know Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour?

Do you have a personal relationship with him?

If not, do you realise your need for him?

Have you become lukewarm in your walk, and realise your need to recommit your life to Jesus?

Here is a prayer you can say.

Dear Jesus, I am a sinner, and I need you. I thank you for going to the cross to die for me, and for rising again.

I am sorry for everything I have ever done wrong, and I ask you to please wash me clean. I ask you to come into my life to be my Lord and saviour, and I surrender to You.

Please fill me with your Holy Spirit and make me whole. Help me to trust you; help me to love you; help me to live for you. Thank you Lord Jesus, Amen

Whenever we do wrong after this, we need to say we’re sorry and ask for his forgiveness. We need to ask Jesus to help us to change.

Talk to him every day, and listen to him, as he wants to talk to you!

Get a bible: I suggest you begin by reading the Gospels and the Psalms. This will help you to get to know God.

Ask the Holy Spirit to fill you.

Jesus doesn’t promise to make life perfect, in fact there may be more hardship and suffering in following him, but he does promise to give us a purpose and a future: a reason to live!

For more, see this post. 

Please let me know, in the comments below, if you have given your life to Jesus, so I can pray for you.

Leave a comment